Chartered Institute of Linguists

Diploma in Translation (DipTrans) - CIOL Qualifications Level 7

The CIOL DipTrans is a professional qualification, recognised and accepted both nationally and internationally by the translation industry. Set at Level 7 (Master’s level), you can benefit by accessing some of the most sought after translation assignments, apply for full membership of CIOL and use the designatory letters CIOL DipTrans.

About DipTrans

Format of the DipTrans exam

The qualification is composed of three units:

Unit 01 - Written translation of a general text

Unit 02 - Written translation of a semi-specialised text in Technology, Business or Literature

Unit 03 - Written translation of a semi-specialised text in Science, Social science or Law


Language can be taken in the exam at the Macao exam centre

  • English to Chinese
  • Chinese to English
  • Portuguese to English
  • English to Portuguese
  • Chinese to Portuguese
  • Portuguese to Chinese


For the availability of other language pairs, please visit CIOL website. For enquiries, please feel free to contact us by email.


Who can take the test?

The CIOL Qualifications Level 7 Diploma in Translation tests professional translating skills at a postgraduate level of competence. The examination is open to all. However, candidates are advised to ensure prior to registering, that their level of linguistic attainment in the source language is at least equivalent to a good Honours degree, and that they are familiar with the relevant cultural background. In line with the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual) requirements, as a guideline candidates should be 19yrs+.